Arizona Auto Insurance Guide
Arizona Auto Insurance Guide Legally Required Coverage for Your Car in Arizona There are hundreds of miles of roads throughout Arizona, stretching from Fredonia to Nogales, Yuma to Bowie, Bullhead City to Winslow, and so on. You may visit the city of Phoenix, the city of Tucson, the ski slopes of Flagstaff, and the beautiful Sonoran desert.
Almost 5 million licensed drivers use them every day, and these drivers cause thousands of accidents, many of which are fatal. Having valid auto insurance is not only the law in the state of Arizona but also a sensible precaution to take whenever you hit the road. This is a primer on the minimum coverage levels required by law in Arizona.
Maintaining liability coverage at least equal to the state minimum is mandatory in Arizona. Serious consequences, including as fines and jail time, may occur from failure to comply. Actual damages (including property damage and medical expenses), economic damages (including lost wages and earning capacity), and emotional and physical pain and suffering may also be recoverable under Arizona’s tort system.
Unlike some other states, Arizona does not mandate that you have certain types of insurance coverage, such as Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist, personal liability, or Collision and Comprehensive. If you have property or other important assets, however, you may want to consider purchasing additional coverage beyond what is legally required.
Arizona law mandates that you keep documentation of your car insurance on you at all times and produce it upon request from a law enforcement officer. For the first offense, the penalty is a $500 fine and a license suspension of up to three months. Fines and suspension times increase with each subsequent offense.
If a person is found guilty of a traffic violation for the second time, they may lose their license, registration, and license plates. There may be a reinstatement fee. Your vehicle could be impounded and you could be charged for towing and storage if you’re involved in an accident and don’t have insurance.
Insurance firms in Arizona are obligated to report private auto insurance data to the state. You will be alerted if your Arizona auto insurance is not in good standing, and you will have 30 days to rectify the situation. If you do not comply, your registration may be canceled.
Vehicle insurance verification surveys are conducted at random in Arizona, and drivers who do not have current coverage will face the same fines as those in other states.