Alaska Car Insurance Guide
Alaska Car Insurance Guide Statutory Minimum Coverage for Automobile Insurance in Alaska Distance between Seward and Fairbanks, Anchorage and Tok, Valdez and Delta Junction Roadways in Alaska total in the thousands of kilometers.
The shortest is the paved section of the Denali at 23 miles, while the longest is the Alaska Highway at 1,390 miles. Nearly half a million people with valid driver’s licenses use them daily. Many Alaskan drivers are engaged in accidents every day, and many of these incidents end in significant bodily harm or even death.
Having valid auto insurance is not only the law in Alaska but also good sense if you plan on driving anywhere in the Last Frontier. The following is an overview of the mandatory insurance coverage standards and legislation in effect in the state of Alaska.
Regarding auto insurance, Alaska is unlike the other 49 states. A valid driver’s license and proof of insurance are not necessary for many outlying regions of Alaska. All of the locations that are excluded from this rule are listed below.
If you’ve earned a ticket for six or more points in the prior five years, you are not exempt and must carry minimum liability insurance. If you don’t happen to call one of the excluded locations home, you’ll need to have at least the minimum liability coverage on your automobile or else pay some serious fines.
If someone is injured because of your negligence in Alaska, you might be held financially responsible for their medical bills, repair bills, lost income, and mental and physical anguish under the state’s tort system.
In the state of Alaska, the legally mandated minimum for auto insurance is:
Accidental injuries are covered by up to $50,000 per victim. The total amount paid out for injuries sustained in an accident is $100,000. Property damage liability of $25,000
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage with limits at least equal to the liability policy limits is an option your insurer in Alaska must present you with under state law. You have the option to acquire extra coverage up to the maximum amount. In addition, you have the option of declining coverage by sending a written notice of refusal to the insurer.
Additional liability or C&C insurance is optional in the Last Frontier state of Alaska. If you have property or other important assets, however, you may want to consider purchasing additional coverage beyond what is legally required.