Alabama Auto Insurance Guide in 2022


Alabama Auto Insurance Guide in 2022

In Alabama, you may travel hundreds of miles from Mobile to Huntsville, Alabama Auto Insurance Guide in 2022 Tuscaloosa to Columbus, and Birmingham to Montgomery. Interstate 22 is the longest state highway with a total length of 367 miles.

I-359 is the shortest at 2.30 miles. The state is traversed by an additional 3,800 miles of U.S. roadways. The state’s 3.7 million licensed motorists use them daily, logging an annual average of 13,516 kilometers behind the wheel. A large number of catastrophic injuries and fatalities are the consequence of traffic incidents involving Alabama drivers every day.

Having valid auto insurance in the Heart of Dixie is not only the law but also good common sense. This is a primer on the fundamentals of auto insurance in the state of Alabama.

A certain level of auto insurance coverage is mandated by law in the state of Alabama. Serious consequences, including as fines and jail time, may occur from failure to comply. Actual damages (including property damage and medical bills), economic damages (including lost income and earning ability), and emotional and physical pain and suffering may all be recoverable from you under Alabama’s tort system.

In the state of Alabama, the legally required minimum for auto insurance is:

Injury coverage of $25,000 per victim, per incident

Per-accident bodily injury caps of $50,000

Property damage liability of $25,000

Unless you notify your insurance company in writing that you are exempting yourself, you must obtain Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists Bodily Injury Coverage in the amount of $25,000 per person/$50,000 per accident in Alabama.

Personal liability and Collision/Comprehensive insurance are optional in Alabama. If you have property or other important assets, however, you may want to consider purchasing additional coverage beyond what is legally required.

Alabama’s Insurance Laws and the Consequences of Driving Without Coverage

Proof of Alabama auto insurance must be kept in your vehicle and presented to a law enforcement officer upon request, as required by law. For a first-time offender, the penalties include a $1,000 fine, a license suspension for six months, and a $200 charge to get your license reinstated. To get your license reinstated, you must also provide evidence of insurance.

Proof of insurance tampering, forgery, or counterfeiting is punishable by a fine of $500 to $5,000 and/or one to ten years in prison as a Class C felony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *